Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Colombo, Sri Lanka

Location:  Sri Lanka

Event:  The Sri Lanka Ministry of Health confirmed 53 cases of COVID-19 in Sri Lanka.

On March 14, the Department of State authorized the departure from any diplomatic or consular post in the world of U.S. personnel and family members who have been medically determined to be at higher risk of a poor outcome if exposed to COVID-19.

The government of Sri Lanka has taken steps to limit the spread of COVID-19.  All incoming passenger arrivals have been suspended until March 25, 2020.  Aircraft departures, passenger connections, and transits to other flights will be permitted.  Flights arriving without passengers for the purpose of picking up departing passengers will also be permitted.  Travelers should be prepared for additional travel restrictions to be put into effect with little or no advance notice. U.S. citizens who are considering returning to the United States are urged to work with their airlines to make travel arrangements while flights are still available.

Schools and universities are closed until April 20, 2020.  Sporting events, festivals, and large gatherings have been banned.  All national parks, major cultural tourist attractions, wildlife parks, and national museums are closed, and tour groups are prohibited.

The U.S. Embassy in Colombo has suspended routine visa services.  For American Citizens Services, including emergency passports, please visit our website for additional information.

The Department of State has issued a Global Level 3 Health Advisory for COVID-19.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 2 Global COVID-19 Outbreak Notice.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 3 Warning for COVID-19 in Europe advising travelers to avoid non-essential travel to Europe.

Due to the potential for checkpoints and curfews and consistent with the Government of Sri Lanka’s efforts, the U.S. Embassy has restricted its personnel from traveling to the Northern, North Central, North Western, Central, Eastern, Sabaragamuwa, and Uva provinces, as well as any areas under curfew, for non-official business

Visit the Sri Lankan Ministry of Health Epidemiology Unit COVID-19 website for updated health information.

Actions to Take: